AHRI Moves Certification Marks Under One Umbrella | Facility Executive - Creating Intelligent Buildings

The association will use a unified mark to identify HVAC/R products that have achieved third-party certification of their performance ratings.

AHRI Moves Certification Marks Under One Umbrella

The Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI) will begin using a new unified mark to identify heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and commercial refrigeration (HVAC/R) products that have achieved third-party certification of their performance ratings. The new mark will replace the ARI Performance Certified, GAMA Efficiency Rating Certified, and I=B=R marks. The changes will be implemented according to a schedule that provides time to bring all certification programs into compliance with internationally recognized accreditations.

The new unified certification mark from AHRI

New unified certification mark from AHRI

In January 2008, the Air-Conditioning and Refrigeration Institute (ARI) and the Gas Appliance Manufacturers Association (GAMA) merged to form the current AHRI. Since then, discussions among its 42 product sections have focused on the value of moving toward unifying the association’s three certification marks. After months of discussion, AHRI’s executive committee recently approved use of a new phrase, AHRI Certified™, and a new unified mark (seen here).

While the new mark and brand usage guidelines became available to manufacturers participating in AHRI’s certification programs on April 20, not all participants will be able to apply the new mark immediately. I=B=R and GAMA Efficiency Rating Certified program participants will have to wait until their programs enter the scope of AHRI’s accreditation by the Standards Council of Canada. Every year, the SCC audits several AHRI programs to ensure that they comply with International Organization for Standardization Guide 65 (ISO-65), which is the internationally accepted quality standard for organizations managing certification programs. Earning SCC accreditation allows certified equipment bearing the new AHRI Certified™ mark to be imported to Canada.

“This audit is important because it recognizes changes have been made to the certification programs to bring them into compliance with ISO-65,” said AHRI President, Stephen Yurek. “The former ARI Performance Certified programs already meet ISO-65 guidelines and are SCC Accredited.”

For this reason, ARI Performance Certified program participants can begin applying the new logo immediately, although they have until January 1, 2011 to transition to the new mark.

Implementation Schedule

April 20, 2009: New certification mark and brand usage manual available for use by the former ARI Performance Certified program participants.

November 2009 to December 2009: Standards Council of Canada audits AHRI annually to confirm its compliance with ISO-65. In 2009, SCC also will be considering whether to extend the scope of AHRI’s SCC accreditation to include the furnace and boiler certification programs. Upon successful completion of this audit, equipment certified under these programs can bear the AHRI Certified mark; however, the certification marks for these programs must still be registered with the Canadian Intellectual Property Office. The average registration process can take 18 to 24 months from filing to registration, assuming no significant obstacles are encountered during the process.

January 1, 2010 to January 1, 2012: Transition period for harmonizing the governing documents for former I=B=R and GAMA certification programs to meet  AHRI’s ISO-65 quality system requirements.
January 1, 2011 Former ARI Performance Certified program participants must apply the new mark by this date.

January 1, 2012: Former I=B=R and GAMA Efficiency Rating Certified program participants must apply the new mark by this date.

Consistent with the new certification mark, AHRI also will be modifying the name of the programs’ certificates to the “AHRI Certificate of Product Ratings” and the certified product identifier number to the “AHRI Certified Reference Number.” For products listed in gamapower.org that identification number was called the “GAMA Model ID” and for those products listed in the ARI directory, it was called the “ARI Reference Number.”

In addition, the name of ARI’s standards changed earlier this year to AHRI Standards. Standards will reflect the new name as they are revised or updated over the next three years.


Enjoyed this article?

Please consider subscribing to our RSS feed!

Add New Comment

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>