As of September 1, 2009, seven states now have laws on the books that require construction workers to complete the OSHA 10-hour construction safety training course before they can work on certain construction projects. The states with an OSHA law already in effect are Massachusetts, Connecticut, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, New York, and most recently, Missouri. The state of Nevada OSHA training law becomes effective January 1, 2010.
Most of the state laws restrict the required training to workers on publicly funded construction sites, such as public roads and bridge construction projects and public school buildings. However, the state of Nevada will require all construction workers to complete the course.
The state laws also vary on exactly which workers need the training, according to Curtis Chambers, vice president of OSHA Pro’s, Inc. “While all seven state laws require the same 10-hour training class, there are slight nuances from state to state. A particular state law may require all labors and supervisors to complete the class, whereas another state law may require the class just for laborers,” says Chambers. “There are also varying thresholds for the dollar amounts of the contracts that dictate when the states’ laws become effective. However,” he warns, “each of these state laws contain a provision that says failure to comply with their rule can result in fines and penalties being assessed, typically to the employer of the non-compliant workers. So affected workers are required to obtain the OSHA 10-hour construction training wallet card to prove they completed the course.”
The OSHA 10-hour construction outreach training course was developed by OSHA as a voluntary safety course to teach workers about the hazards of construction work and the regulations applicable to their work site. But these seven states have decided to make the course mandatory training for construction workers in hopes of reducing the number of injuries and fatalities afflicting construction workers.
The OSHA 10-hour construction outreach training course can be conducted by instructors who are authorized by OSHA to conduct this training and issue the OSHA cards. Some large companies even have their own authorized OSHA trainer on staff.
There are also private safety consultants and companies that conduct the training for a fee for companies or groups needing the course. OSHA has also authorized online OSHA 10-hour construction outreach training courses, allowing a worker to take the required class on the computer via the Internet, and have the wallet card subsequently mailed to the trainee. Carrie Braswell, administrator for the Internet-based online OSHA training Web site, says, “Business has really boomed since these state laws have taken effect. Especially right before a particular state deadline comes along.”
The state laws and links to those laws appear below, as well as resources for the training:
- Massachusetts OSHA Law
- Connecticut OSHA Law
- New Hampshire OSHA Law
- Rhode Island OSHA Law
- New York OSHA Law
- Missouri OSHA Law
- Nevada OSHA Law
You might like:
- Friday Funny: Super Bowl Time Warp
- Webinar: Making Sense of Smart Buildings – 6 Steps to Maximize Investments
- Webinar: 6 Workplace Technology Predictions for 2016 – Are You Ready?
- China’s First Green Skyscraper
- Winter Roof Maintenance: Ounce of Prevention Worth Pound of Cure
- New Shade Fabric Boosts Energy Efficiency 50% At Automotive Facility
- Psychology Of The Office Space
- New Product Flash: Drone Detector By Drone Labs
- Stadium Maintenance: Would Better Field Upkeep Have Kept The Rams In St. Louis?
- Survey Reveals Dirty Little Restroom Secrets
- Question Of The Week: Utilizing Universal Design?
- FM Alert: Do You Know The School Janitor Of The Year?
- AHI White Papers Address Critical Issues Affecting Healthcare Facilities
- Zika Virus: 5 Things To Know, Plus Pest Control In Offices
- Waterproof Your Facility: Maintenance And Water Damage Prevention