NIBS Announces 2012 Board Of Directors

The National Institute of Building Sciences (NIBS) has announced its 2012 Board of Directors is now in place. The individuals include those representing facility managers, building owners, local code officials, lighting manufacturers, and fire protection engineers.

The executive team includes RK Stewart as chair, James “Tim” Ryan as vice chair, John Kelly as secretary, and Edd Soenke as treasurer. New members to the Board include Wally Bailey, Cheryl English, and Thomas Mitchell.

Individuals’ Merits
Stewart, FAIA, NCARB, Hon. FRAIC, Hon. JIA, Hon. RAIA, LEED AP, is an associate principal in the San Francisco office of architecture firm Perkins+Will. He was elected to the Board in 2008 as an architect in the public interest category.

Ryan, CBO, is the code administrator for the city of Overland Park, KS. A certified building official, he was elected to the Board in 2006 as a local agency official in the public interest category. Earlier this year, he was nominated as an appointee to the Board by the president of the United States and is awaiting approval from the Senate.

Kelly recently retired as executive vice president of Ryan Companies US, Inc., a national real estate firm headquartered in Minneapolis. He was elected to the Board in 2009 to represent building owners in the industry category and returns for a second term.

Soenke, FCSI, AIA, CCS, NCARB, is principal of The Design Partnership, an architectural practice based in West Des Moines, IA. He was elected to the Board in 2008 as an architect in the public interest category.

New Board member Bailey, director of development services for the City of Fort Smith, AK, heads the city’s administration and enforcement of building safety, neighborhood services, historic preservation, and land development divisions. He will represent local code officials in the public interest category.

English, FIES, LC, is vice president, government and industry relations, for Acuity Brands, a provider of lighting fixtures and related products and services. She will represent lighting manufacturers in the industry sector category.

Mitchell, Lt. Col. (ret.), USAF, CFM, CFMJ, facilities and asset management consulting services for Booz Allen Hamilton, helps clients develop vision, strategies, and solutions that shape, improve, and optimize their built environment. He will represent facility managers in the public interest category.

In addition, Carl F. Baldassarra, PE, FSFPE, executive vice president of fire protection and security consultants The RJA Group, Inc., parent company of Rolf Jensen & Associates, Inc. (RJA) and Sako and Associates, Inc. (SAKO), returns for a second term on the Board. He represents fire protection engineers in the industry sector category.

The Institute’s Nominations Committee recommended the slate of officers, returning board members, and new members, which the Board unanimously approved in September. The officers and members were seated following the December 9 Board meeting during the 2011 NIBS Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.

They join presiding Board members John F. Bender, PE, FSFPE, of Underwriters Laboratories, Inc.; C. Morgan Edwards; Hon. Bill Hardiman, former senator of Michigan’s 29th District; Steve M. Hays, PE, CIH, FACEC, of Gobbell Hays Partners, Inc.; Gordon V.R. Holness, PE, FASHRAE, consulting engineer; Susan S. Klawans of Gilbane Building Company; Dwight “Sonny” M. Richardson, Jr., of Richardson Home Builders, Inc.; Emory R. Rodgers of the Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development; Jim. W. Sealy, FAIA, NCARB, HFES, Hon. ICC, architect/consultant; Charles W. Steger, PhD, FAIA, president of Virginia Tech; and Steven R. Winkel, FAIA, PE, of the Preview Group, Inc.

Heidi Brock, president of the Aluminum Association, and Brent H. Woodworth, president and chief executive officer of the Los Angeles Emergency Preparedness Foundation, retire from the Board but will remain active on several program committees within the Institute.