Alliance To Save Energy 2017 Award Winners

Now in its 25th year, these annual energy awards recognize innovators in the field of energy efficiency.

Now in its 25th year, the Alliance to Save Energy has announced the 2017 winners of its Stars of Energy Efficiency Award. In 1993, the Alliance presented its first Star of Energy Efficiency Award to Senator Tim Wirth. These energy awards continues to recognize innovators in the field of energy efficiency and reward the hard work of those dedicated to saving awards

This year’s winners will be recognized at a dinner on September 14, where attendees from industry, government, and the non-profit sectors will convene at Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium in Washington, DC.

The 2017 Stars of Energy Efficiency, as recognized by the Alliance to Save Energy are:

Chairman’s Award
Chairman of the Board of the Alliance to Save Energy, Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), has selected Itron to receive this year’s Chairman’s Award. Senator Shaheen is recognizing Itron for its breakthrough OpenWay® Riva technology for smart utilities and smart cities. OpenWay Riva utilizes distributed intelligence, machine-to-machine learning, and advanced network communications to drive significant improvements in energy efficiency and water resource management as well as reduction of losses and waste.

Charles H. Percy Award for Public Service
National Renewable Energy Laboratory is receiving the Charles H. Percy Award for Public Service in recognition of 40 years of leadership in advancing energy efficiency and clean technology. Throughout its history, NREL has been at the forefront of innovation, from high-performance building efficiency with research into “Whole Building” and “Net Zero Energy” design, to fuel efficiency and sustainable transportation innovations. NREL boasts a long history of energy management research and consultation that has helped transform nearly every aspect of energy use.

Stars Of Energy Efficiency

Built Environment: 7-Eleven
7-Eleven is being honored with the Built Environment award for its commitment to reducing energy consumption and improving efficiency. 7-Eleven has successfully decreased electricity use in store operations by an estimated 21% over the past seven years through installing LED lighting, energy management systems and high-efficiency HVAC units.

Industry & Manufacturing: Schneider Electric
Schneider Electric is receiving the Industry & Manufacturing award for its commitment to comprehensive improvements in energy intensity. Schneider reached the Better Plants goal of a 25% improvement in energy intensity within seven years — three years ahead of the 10-year program period. This goal was met through multiple energy efficiency projects across their 24 plants, including improved productivity in fabrication, upgraded high and low bay lighting, HVAC system upgrades, and decommissioning outdated equipment. The company’s U.S. Green manufacturing plan also includes programs such as zero landfilling, everBlue on water conservation, and proactive renewable electricity adoption.

Innovative: American Water
American Water is receiving the Innovative award for its pioneering geothermal system at William Buck Elementary in Valley Stream, NY. This project utilizes a new method for geothermal systems that maintains functionality while reducing installation costs. This system provides heating and cooling to the building, while also saving the school 41,000 kBTU/square foot/year.

Transportation: Chevrolet Bolt
The Chevrolet Bolt EV is being honored with the Transportation award for its game-changing all-electric vehicle technology, which is driving energy conservation in the sector. The Bolt EV is the first-long range, affordably priced electric vehicle, and it achieves an EPA-estimated range of 238 miles of zero-emission driving per full charge. The Bolt EV is positioned to transform the market by offering superior drivabaility in an affordable, energy efficient product.

The Star of Energy Efficiency award recipients are selected each year by the Dinner & Awards Committee, which includes a diverse group of industry representatives. The Committee reviews all nominations, selects finalists, and ultimately selects the recipients in each award category.

Energy efficiency and related topics will be a focus at Facility Executive Live!, a one-day event taking place October 3, 2017 in downtown Chicago. A BOMI-accredited session, “Creating An Energy Roadmap,” will feature several panelists to discuss the topic. Click here to learn more about this event hosted by Facility Executive magazine.